Acrostic Poems

  • img_4716An acrostic poem is a poem where certain letters in each line spells out a word or phrase. Typically, the first letters of a line are used to spell the message.
    Called me tonight to ask for advice
    Although she scoffed at the words spoken
    Maybe this is her attempt at a conversation
    Either way, I had to hold my tongue and not erupt
    Rage sometimes tends to get the best of me in these mother-daughter standoffs
    Only it was different tonight, tonight I kept my cool and turned the question back on her
    Never mind,”she said. “You wouldn’t understand.”

     

    I used to HATE acrostic poems. Every year at an attempt to teach poetry three-fourths of the staff would teach the students to write one. The kids usually produced tired, uninspired renditions based on the lackluster models that they were given.
    Thanks to Amis, I have seen the possibilities and now appreciate the form.

 

35 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

